Sometimes it is necessary to let some customers submit pre orders only and let the others approve them. Their roles in the customer group can be employees and managers correspondingly.
How it works?
After the group and the role are assigned to a customer (for example, employees are only allowed to place pre orders without being able to change their statuses while managers are also allowed to change the order statuses) the customers with the employee role can start submitting pre orders.
Once a pre order is submitted, customers with the manager role from the same customer group can view and further process this pre order by logging in to their accounts from either the front end or back end.
First, the status for such a pre order can be changed to Awaiting for payment, then it can be further changed to Payment Successful.
As a result, the order type is changed from pre order to the regular order and can be processed as usual by an administrator in the back end. There is the reference in this order to the pre order it was originally converted from.